“The past no longer exists, and the future is not yet here.” ~The Buddha

“The only moment in which you can be truly alive is the present moment. The present moment is the destination,the point to arrive at. Every time you breathe in and take a step, you arrive.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh 

My meditation this morning is about being present, living in the Now. It is so hard to remember this. I can find my place, slide into the moment and stay in bliss for a while but it fades as I forget and the day to day drama consumes me.  I know this is one of the main things I need to learn to be able to live a happy life.

In the book, You Are Here: Discovering the Magic of the Present Moment by Thich Nhat Hanh, I found this poem, or mantra, that I use to ground myself and reorient my observation into what is going on around me rather than what I am thinking and planning.

“I have arrived, I am home,

In the here and in the now.

I am solid, I am free,

In the ultimate I dwell.”

It’s a simple mantra, but powerful.  I have associated each phrase with a mental image and feeling.  No matter what I am doing I can repeat these words and slide into “Observer Mode.”  I use this during my meditation time, when I fit it in, and it is a practice, a training, so that it becomes powerful and useful during the rest of my day.

I am assigning myself an art project this morning: Make a piece of art that represents this mantra.  I want to hang this in a special place in my home so that when I see it I am reminded to “arrive back home.”  Be in the present, stop the thoughts and words and worries.  Just enjoy what the present moment has to offer instead of wishing it away with meaningless brain chatter.

2 thoughts on “I Am Home, An Art Assignment

Leave a Reply

